The EDDYS 2019 honors 10 movie icons

posted May 27, 2019 at 06:25 pm
by  Manila Standard Showbitz
Ten respected local film luminaries will be recognized in the third edition of the Society of Philippine Entertainment Editors’ (SPEEd) The EDDYS happening in July.

The EDDYS 2019 honors 10 movie icons
FILM ICONS. Carrying on the tradition of paying tribute to biggest movie stars of Philippine cinema, the 3rd EDDYS will honor Joseph Estrada, Tirso Cruz III, Vilma Santos, and Lorna Tolentino (along with Christopher de Leon, Eddie Gutierrez, Anita Linda, Dante Rivero, and Celia Rodriguez) as Movie Icons. 
Carrying on the tradition of paying tribute to movie stars who have made an indelible mark in the industry through their significant bodies of work, this year’s Icon Awards will be conferred upon Amalia Fuentes, Tirso Cruz III, Christopher de Leon, Joseph Estrada, Eddie Gutierrez, Anita Linda, Dante Rivero, Celia Rodriguez, Vilma Santos, and Lorna Tolentino.

Meanwhile, as SPEEd joins in the celebration of the 100 years of Philippine Cinema, in partnership with the Film Development Council of the Philippines (FDCP) led by Chairperson Liza Diño, the group will also honor some of the industry’s “unsung heroes” who work behind the camera.

These film workers are the backbones of movie projects. For years, they have dedicated their talents, working tirelessly for long hours deriving their professional satisfaction from their contribution behind the scenes. 

Also included in the list are the three major studios that inspired new players in film production. These are Sampaguita Pictures (represented by Marichu Vera Perez-Maceda) LVN Studios (Maroth de Leon) and Premiere Productions (Digna Santiago).

Completing the “Parangal Sa Sandaan” list are Armida Siguion-Reyna (posthumous), Val IglesiasVic Delotavo, Romy Vitug, Romy Peralta, Lucy Quinto, Val Campbell, Rustica Carpio, and Rosa Rosal.

The 100 years of Philippine Cinema was recognized through Presidential Proclamation 622 Series signed in November, assigning FDCP as lead agency for the celebration. 

The editors’ group has already unveiled the list of nominees for the third edition of The EDDYS. 

Citizen JakeGoyoLiwayRainbow’s Sunset, and Signal Rock are the five films vying for the coveted best picture at this year’s ceremony.

The EDDYS aims to encourage local filmmakers, producers, writers, and actors to continue pursuing their passion for creating films that mirror the realities of our society.

The SPEEd is made up of entertainment editors of newspapers and tabloids circulated daily nationwide. 

The non-profit organization, established in 2015, is led by Ian F. Farinas as president and Isah V. Red as chairman emeritus.

Topics: Society of Philippine Entertainment Editors , The EDDYS , Amalia Fuentes , Tirso Cruz III , Christopher de Leon , Joseph Estrada , Eddie Gutierrez , Anita Linda , Dante Rivero , Celia Rodriguez , Vilma Santos ,  Lorna Tolentino
COMMENT DISCLAIMER: Reader comments posted on this Web site are not in any way endorsed by The Standard. Comments are views by readers who exercise their right to free expression and they do not necessarily represent or reflect the position or viewpoint of While reserving this publication’s right to delete comments that are deemed offensive, indecent or inconsistent with The Standard editorial standards, The Standard may not be held liable for any false information posted by readers in this comments section.