Superstar moments at the first Eddys

posted July 12, 2017 at 06:26 pm
by  Nickie Wang
Photos by Sonny Espiritu

Winning the highest acting honor in any awards show is an ultimate triumph for an actor. But for the country’s lone superstar Nora Aunor, gracing an awarding ceremony without expecting victory, is the greatest act of sportsmanship.  

She was one of the people who was genuinely smiling and loudly applauded when presenters Jodi Sta. Maria and Cristine Reyes announced Vilma Santos’s name as the winner of Best Actress award at the inaugural Entertainment Editors’ Choice Award for Movies.

La Aunor, who was nominated in the Best Actress category for her role as a “kept maiden” in the Cinemalaya Film Festival entry, Tuos, was defeated by her perennial rival in the movie world who portrayed a successful business woman whose personal life falls apart when she learns she is suffering from stage three cancer in the comedy drama Everything About Her. 

Best Actress nominee Nora Aunor
SPEEd president Isah V. Red
Nadine Lustre and James Reid open the grand awards show 
Aunor’s presence alone made the award show, held on Sunday at the Kia Theater, a remarkable affair emblazoned with surprises on the stage and at the podium where names of the winners were known the first time. The list of winners was not even leaked to the officers and members of group behind the now notable awards show fashionably called The Eddys.

The star-studded gathering witnessed the Society of Philippine Entertainment Editors’ (SPEEd) endeavor to encourage great work, set the bar high, inspire new generations of creative people, and create a dynamic environment that can stimulate growth of the ever-evolving local movie industry.  

The snazzy movie awards that clocked in under just two hours showcased a fast-paced program featuring snappy production  from the country’s most revered set of love teams and performers  including James Reid and Nadine Lustre, Julian Trono and Ella Cruz, Arjo Atyde and Yassi Pressman, Martin Nievera, Ogie Alcasid, Marissette Amon, and Klarisse.

Luis Manzano accepts the Best Actress trophy on Vilma Santos' s behalf
Boy Abunda receives the Joe Quinto Award
Ogie Alcasid
Dominated by the Star Cinema film Everything About Her, which bagged four major awards including Best Musical Score, Best Screenplay, and Best Supporting Actress for Angel Locsin, The Eddys also honored luminaries who have made indelible marks in their chosen field. Special awards were handed to Boy Abunda (Joe Quirino Award), Lav Diaz (Manny Pichel Award) and Mother Lily Monteverde (Producer of the Year).

Abunda and Monteverde personally accepted their recognition highlighting in their speech how grateful they are for the unparalleled support of the entertainment editors who are regarded movers in the industry. 

Also a big winner of the night was the Lav Diaz’s Golden Lion-winning film Ang Babaeng Humayo that won Best Supporting Actor for John Lloyd Cruz, Best Director for Diaz, and Best Picture.

Regal Entertainment's Mother Lily, Producer of the Year
The Eddys hosts Luis and Edu Manzano
Martin Nievera
The decorated Jun Lana film Die Beautiful continued its awards haul, this time at The Eddys, for winning Best Actor trophy for Paolo Ballesteros, Best Production Design, and Best Editing. 

MMFF 2016 big winner Seklusyon, directed by Erik Matti, snatched the technical awards namely Best Sound, Best Visual Effects, and Best Cinematography. 

Other winners were Sunday Beauty Queen (Best Documentary) and Saving Sally (Best Theme Song).

Hosted by father and son Edu and Luiz Manzano, The Eddys is a joined production between Viva Live and ABS-CBN. Taped as live, it will air on Sunday after Gandang Gabi Vice.

Topics: Nora Aunor , The Eddys , Society of Philippine Entertainment Editors , SPEEd)
COMMENT DISCLAIMER: Reader comments posted on this Web site are not in any way endorsed by The Standard. Comments are views by readers who exercise their right to free expression and they do not necessarily represent or reflect the position or viewpoint of While reserving this publication’s right to delete comments that are deemed offensive, indecent or inconsistent with The Standard editorial standards, The Standard may not be held liable for any false information posted by readers in this comments section.